College Photographer. Knox Alum. Young Photojournalist.

The Cliche Camera Bag Post


So everyone does this post now or later. Now is the time.

The classic gear photo. Gear missing (due to needing to take the photo) 7D and my 50mm f/1.8.

Canon 7D:My trusty main body with the battery pack and gaps and labels all gaffer taped up like any good photographer.

Canon 70-200mm f/2.8: And yes it’s the non-IS version. I’m a college student and the pluses of IS didn’t outweigh the extra cost. This is my most trustworthy lens so you will see it on my camera most often. 

Tokina 12-24mm f/4: Ahh the wide angle lens that I love too much. I have to often check myself from shooting at 12mm since it does a good job at making people look funny. Despite this this is my second favorite lens. Well built for a 3rd party lens.

Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8: The lens that frustrates me too much. I purchased this lens used, and now I’m hesitant of purchasing used lenses ever again.

Canon 50mm f/1.8: The trusty 50. Cheep, but still produces wonderful images. Very handy in low light situations.

Canon Xsi: my backup body. It’s an intro body, but when that 7D breaks I will still be able to come back with something. Also good for holding lenses if I can’t cary the behemoth bag around.

Rode mic: Gotta start shooting more video. Very handy in producing quality sound for my videos.

Canon 1.4x II extender: That little extra boost in distance for my 70-200mm is wonderful. It’s amazing.

Canon 430 EX II: It’s a flash unit so I don’t use it too often, but I need it once in a while so it gets to sit in my bag.

Tamrac Pro12: The bag I carry everything in. Almost forgot. It’s big, but it does a great job at getting all my gear around.

Odds and Ends:

  • Think Tank card holder
  • Rosco gels
  • Lens cleaning stuff
  • Voice recorder
  • Tripod mounts
  • Batteries for all the gear (10 AA’s, 2 9V, extra batteries for the cameras)
  • Hand warmers (It gets cold near the end of football season)
  • Gaffers tape
  • Paper and a ton of pens
And that’s all. Certainly stuff I need to upgrade or at least would like to upgrade, but I’m happy. It all adds up to a heavy camera bag and I’ll learn to start cutting back on what a carry when my back starts giving me troubles, but until then.
Leave a Reply

