College Photographer. Knox Alum. Young Photojournalist.

Shooting Soccer with a 50mm


A few days ago I let a new photographer at The Knox Student borrow my 70-200mm so I challenged myself to shoot with just my 50mm f/1.8 during the game. I looked for more sideline shots, since the action was getting covered by the two other photographers from The Knox Student at the game.

Here are my five best shots from the day, and I must say I think I will pulling out the 50 more often during outdoor sports events. It was a fun challenge that helped me think more about the emotion and sideline action than the action out on the field.

Knox College's Ella Peterson sits with her teammates during a team talk during halftime against Concordia-Chicago. Knox was tied at the half, but was unable to keep up with Concordia-Chicago, losing 3-1.

Assistant Coach John Baillie watches the action on the pitch during the second half of the 3-1 loss to Concordia-Chicago on Tuesday, Sept. 13, 2011.

Knox College's Angie Garduno dribbles the ball past Concordia-Chicago defenders on Tuesday during the 3-1 loss to Concordia-Chicago.

Knox College's Emily Turner watches from the sidelines after being pulled from the game against Concordia-Chicago on Tuesday, Sept. 13, 2011. Turner was replaced by Rachael Koene in the 83rd minute during the 3-1 loss.

A game ball sits on the side of the field after the Knox Women’s Soccer Team lost 3-1 to Concordia-Chicago on Sept 13, 2011.
One response

  1. DG

    Looks good John. Keep up the good work!

    September 17, 2011 at 3:01 am

Leave a Reply

